Training a Teenage Scottie Mix: The Journey Begins

 

B & W troublemaker Training has reconvened in the Stoddard household!  Our beloved Taylor, since turning three, has exhibited out-of-the-blue aggressive behavior towards other dogs.

..and initially, yours truly thought it would be best to respond to this fact by freaking out!

Taylor?

My Taylor? 

This is not like her!  She loves everybody!

Well, now that Taylor has reached her teen years, she is apparently developing an attitude towards a particular population of dogs: females who are around the age of 3.  She is a complete angel around males as well as seniors of both sexes.  Go figure!

So many questions have been running through my mind:

Why is she doing this? 

Does she feel threatened by other females her age? 

Is this like the canine version of Mean Girls?

So, after my freaking out phase ended, I visited my local bookstore and purchased two books that will hopefully help me shed some light into this random behavior detour.

books

Currently, I am reading Training for Both Ends of the Leash by Kate Perry and Yvonne Conza, and I will later read It’s Me or The Dog: How to Have the Perfect Pet by Victoria Stilwell.  I am already learning quite a bit, and I will fill you in on the techniques that Jeremy and I are now incorporating into Taylor’s training in the days to come.

Just like our human teenagers, I am now understanding that Taylor is also going through some…um…changes.  Both Taylor and her humans just need to learn how to work though those changes in a socially appropriate way!  ;-)

So, until tomorrow, Friends!  I hope you have a great night!

B & W SundayThis week, Life Embarked is taking part in The Black and White Sunday Blog Hop, hosted by Sugar, The Golden Retriever and Dachshund Nola.

16 comments

  1. Oh good luck! I’m sure you and Taylor can work things out … though, I like the idea of a canine version of Mean Girls ;)
    Hugs, Carrie (Myfie, Ellie and Mille) x

    1. LOL! The interrelationships between dogs is quite similar to how humans interact, I think. I’m sure female dogs get into just as much drama as their human counterparts!

  2. We hope that Taylor can read the books that you bought. Scotties have their own ways and do not follow the rules. Knowing this fact will make your life easier to understand. I’ve owned Scotties since 1968 and they defy all logic.

    1. Thank you so much! You just put everything into perspective! I just need to always keep in might the Scottie temperament, and that there is no such thing as a PERFECT dog. :-)

  3. My girl is same sex aggressive. I hate that phrase/term, but it is true. So long as the other female is not in her face, she is fine. It is a pain. We were not able to “fix” it, so we manage it instead.

    1. Thank you so much for letting me know that there is actually a term for this type of behavior. Man…I am so thankful for dog bloggers like you! I am learning so much from you all! :-)

Leave a Reply

