Getting Excited for Easter (Again!) with Holiday Doggy Attire Recommendations!

Easter, 2013

Taylor looking prim and proper in front of her Easter gift from her grandma and grandpa last year. FYI: she received more money-filled eggs than I did!

Childhood was a time when holidays did not come fast enough!  Next to Christmas, Easter was the holiday I looked forward to every year as a kid.  Every Easter morning, my sisters and I woke up to amazing Easter baskets from my parents, filled to the brim with edible goodies, toys, coloring books, stickers, and everything else a kid from the late ’80s/early ’90s would have loved!

There might have been issues of Bop and Teen Beat Magazine in our Easter baskets…just sayin’…  ;-)

It was a time for family, fancy dresses, outrageously fun Easter egg hunts, and candy…lots and lots of candy!

…and then adulthood happened!

DARN IT! 

As a grown-up, Easter slowly but surely became just another day.  Sure, I still reveled in the chance to see friends and family, but Easter was no longer a day I counted down towards!  Because of school, bills, rent, and many other adult tasks, the holiday was put on the back burner, and it stayed there for many years.  The novelty was gone!

…and then, at the age of 32, that all changed when I became a dog parent for the first time!

WOO HOO!!

As a dog mom, I have surprisingly developed a renewed enthusiasm for holidays, including Easter!  Being a dog mom has taught me that it is ok to put aside my adult responsibilities and celebrate life…to become giddy for pretty Easter dresses, to play silly games with family, and to eat Easter-themed desserts without worrying about its caloric intake!  Taylor has shown me that it is ok to act like a kid sometimes!  It is the perfect stress-reliever!

I should start calling her Dr. Taylor from now on!  ;-)

So, in the spirit of Easter and restored innocence, I would like to share with you some ideas that I stumbled upon while wearing my curator hat for Pack’s Scottish Terrier Newsletter.  This week, I shared in the newsletter some adorable Easter finds that would be perfect for Scottie parents.  However, Easter fun is definitely not just for Scotties!

I know that many of you will be giving your fur babies their own Easter baskets this year…don’t be afraid to admit it, because Jeremy and I surely will!  I know that finding amazing toys and treats will not be a problem for you, my savvy fellow dog parents!  But what about your dog’s Easter attire?  Can you imagine how fabulous your Easter, 2014 photos will be with your little one perfectly dressed in his or her Easter finest?

Below you will find the best in Easter doggy attire from outstanding canine-related small businesses.  You will see ideas for both boys and girls, as well as small, medium, and large breeds:

Best Easter Outfit for Girls (small & medium breeds): Easter Chicks Couture Dress from All About Elegance

Easter DressI love this delightful dress because of its impeccable craftsmanship!  I also love that a ring is included at the bottom of its pink polka-dot bow, so it can also be used as a harness!

Best Easter Outfit for Boys (small & medium breeds): The Easter Egg Dog Shirt from Everything Merrillee

Easter Shirt Give your handsome boy the Tommy Bahama look with this festive Easter-themed shirt!  Included in this link is a measuring chart that will make it easy for you to determine the right size for your little one!

Best Easter-Themed Dog Collars: Star Premier Designs

Easter collarsIf you would like to keep your dog’s Easter look more understated, please check out these amazing little works of art!  As you can see, this Easter collection is quickly gaining popularity, so go grab yourself a wonderful Easter collar from Star Premier Designs while you still can!

Taylor and I have found that most of our large breed buddies prefer to wear something extra special around their necks for holidays as opposed to an entire outfit.  So, with that in mind, here are my recommendations:

Best Easter-Themed Bow Tie for Boys: The Easter Eggs and Doggies Print Bow Tie from Preppy Pup Couture

Easter Bow Tie This precious bow tie can be easily attached to any collar, or customers can also purchase a preppy shirt collar for added fanciness!

Best Easter Flower for Girls: The Zentangle Gypsy Cotton Dog Collar and Removable Flower from Chickadee Way

Easter flower I love how this cheerful print is perfect for Easter, yet it can also be worn year-round.  It is also great to see what was not used in the creation of this dazzling dog accessory.  I’m talking about possible choking hazards like buttons and beads.  I want all of my fellow dog parents to have a worry-free Easter, after all!

Remember when we were kids, when it seemed to take forever and a day for Easter to arrive?  Well, time has become lightning fast as adults…so we all know that Easter will be here before we know it!  Taylor and I hope that the ideas you see above will get you on the right Easter footing!  I’m looking forward to seeing Taylor and her buddies in their Easter best on April 20th!

So, what is your favorite Easter attire from the choices above? 

Have you also developed a renewed enthusiasm for holidays since becoming a dog parent? 

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below! 

 

 

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. Being a cat parent, I’m sure something can be converted to cats, I adore the little flower collar. It’s great all pets can be included in the holidays. My cats get wet food on my days off and holidays.

  2. For the last 5 years the Boys have attended Sunrise Service with us on Easter morning. It’s so hard to find “dashing” attire for large dogs, but this year thanks to Jen DeHann of Stylish Canines, they will strut their stuff in their new collars. That’s about as fancy as we get!

  3. That’s a lot of cool stuff! I just hope my Mum doesn’t get any ideas and dress me up for Easter! :)

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

Leave a Reply

