Taylor and Acupuncture: A Surprisingly Great Combination!

Acupuncture has been an amazing asset for Taylor!  In an attempt to relieve the pain from her luxating patellas and to (hopefully) prevent an arthritis diagnosis in the future, she has been receiving a 20-minute acupuncture session once a month for the past four months.  With the help of my trusty iPhone and a bag of Dr. Becker Bites as a reward/distraction, I was able to snap two photos of Taylor as she let the acupuncture needles do their work during her last appointment almost two weeks ago.

As you can see, most of the acupuncture needles are located around Taylor's back legs.

As you can see, most of the acupuncture needles are located around Taylor’s back legs.

Taylor was happy...and sometimes fidgety...during her acupuncture appointment last week.  :-)

Taylor was happy…and sometimes fidgety…during her last acupuncture appointment. :-)

Acupuncture helps to release the body’s own pain-relieving and anti-inflammatory capabilities.  As a result, it corrects the body’s energy imbalances that could result from overcompensation due to a painful part of the body.  For a more detailed account of the benefits of acupuncture, please check out Dr. Patrick Mahaney’s informative article for PetMD by clicking here.

I have to admit that this monthly procedure is not cheap.  Jeremy and I pay $95 per session.  However, it comes up to roughly $3.17 per day, which is about how much I would pay for my daily mocha at my local coffee shop.  Sometimes, I would spend more!  So, when we looked at the price of acupuncture from this angle, it did not seem so outrageous!  Now, Taylor gets the relief she needs…and I no longer visit my local coffee shop!  A great trade-off, I must say!  :-)

If you have used acupuncture in the past for your little one, let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

 

 

19 comments

  1. I’ve heard acupuncture works for some pets, its becoming more accepted. Great that its working for Taylor. May I ask how you decided to go with acupuncture and how did you fond one that works on pets?

    1. Thank you so much! Jeremy and I decided to proceed with acupuncture because after researching about luxating patellas, we knew that doing nothing would lead to arthritis and even surgery in the years to come. This, along with glucosamine wafers, seemed like the best preventative route for Taylor. And, luckily, Taylor’s holistic vet (whom Taylor LOVES!) is also certified in acupuncture! :-)

    1. Thank you, Cathy…we were pretty surprised as well! Acupuncture seemed like a very “far out there” concept, but it is an amazing practice that should be more widely available!

    1. It’s so sad that acupuncture is not more widely available! I wonder if it’s because the philosophies that holistic vets promote are frowned upon by some traditional vets. :-(

  2. I haven’t used acupuncture for my pups but I do know of folk that have and they have nothing but the highest praise for it. We will be keeping our paws crossed that Taylor continues to get so much out of it.
    Hugs, Carrie (Myfie, Ellie and Millie) x

  3. I have never tried acupuncture on my dogs. It seems scary, but after looking at Taylor’s reaction, I’m quite positive that it will not hurt much? My Oliver has some arthritis problem, but it is quite difficult to find a vet that do acupuncture in my area

Leave a Reply

